Plain Living: A Quaker Path to Simplicity

By Catherine Whitmire

So much folks residing during this advanced and time-pressured period have moments after we want we have been residing less complicated, extra significant lives. occasionally those needs are fleeting wants, yet for lots of this present day the quest for a lifetime of larger simplicity and that means has constructed right into a deep longing.

There are many routes to simplicity. This publication specializes in and gives path to the gimmick-free religious direction by way of Quakers.

For over 3 centuries Quakers were residing out of a religious heart in a life-style they name "plain living." Their gathered reports and distilled knowledge have a lot to provide an individual looking larger simplicity this day.

Plain dwelling isn't approximately sacrifice. it is approximately picking out the existence you really need, a kind of inward simplicity that leads us to pay attention for the "still, small voice" of God.

This publication is going past the in simple terms fashionable to make the by way of now well-worn Quaker route to simple dwelling available to everyone.

Show description

Going on Being: Life at the Crossroads of Buddhism and Psychotherapy

Prior to he all started education as a psychiatrist, Mark Epstein immersed himself in Buddhism via influential academics corresponding to Ram Dass, Joseph Goldstein, and Jack Kornfield. Buddhism's optimistic outlook and the meditative precept of residing within the second profoundly stimulated his research and perform of psychotherapy. Going on Being is an intimate chronicle of Epstein's youth in addition to a pragmatic advisor to how a Buddhist realizing of mental difficulties can assist an individual switch for the higher. Epstein supplies readers a deeply own investigate his existence, strategies, fears, and hopes, whereas detailing the impacts that experience formed his worldview. Inspiring in its honesty and humility, happening Being is a compassionate, excellent examine how uniting the worlds of psyche and spirit can result in a brand new means of seeing fact.

Show description

Creative Evolution: A Physicist's Resolution Between Darwinism and Intelligent Design

By means of denying evolution altogether, says quantum physicist Amit Goswani, clever layout believers fly within the face of medical information. however the inspiration of clever layout does comprise substance that neo-Darwinists can't forget about. Goswani posits that recognition, now not subject, is the first strength within the universe. Biology needs to come to phrases with feeling, which means, and the purposefulness of existence, in addition to with the belief of a dressmaker. what is extra, reconciling the query of life's purposefulness and the life of the clothier with neo-Darwinism additionally solutions many different tough questions. the result's a paradigm shift for biology and the imaginative and prescient of a coherent complete that Goswami calls "science inside consciousness." during this well timed, vital booklet, the writer bargains transparent arguments supported via the findings of quantum physics that characterize a big step in resolving controversies among technological know-how and faith.

Show description

Courage: Overcoming Fear and Igniting Self-Confidence

By Debbie Ford

From Debbie Ford, the writer whose inspiring phrases have helped hundreds of thousands of readers, Courage has the facility to alter your lifestyles. A tried-and-tested, process-driven method of conquering our fears, accepting our flaws, and tapping into our power, Courage will support readers detect the arrogance they should accomplish anything.

In this own and robust advisor to self-actualization, Ford makes use of the years of knowledge she has amassed as a non secular instructor and private progress trainer to carry an integral software for an individual wanting to turn into their very own top self—a ideal healthy for readers of Deepak Chopra, Wayne Dyer, and Judith Orloff, for brand spanking new readers of Debbie Ford, and for longtime lovers of her nationwide bestselling books The 21-Day realization Cleanse, The darkish aspect of the sunshine Chasers, The mystery of the Shadow, and more.

Show description

Elements of the Real in Man (Diamond Heart, Book 1)

By A. H. Almaas

This five-volume sequence offers a suite of talks given through Almaas on subject matters resembling religion, dedication, the Aristocracy and soreness, fact and compassion, permitting, and transforming into up. via those talks, Almaas deals precious assistance and recommendation for these on a non secular direction, and he explores the demanding situations and mental obstacles confronted by means of these looking self-realization.

Show description

A Brief History of Everything

By Ken Wilber

A short heritage of every little thing is an altogether pleasant and available account of fellows and women's position in a universe of intercourse, soul, and spirit, written via an writer of whom New York occasions reporter Tony Schwartz says: "No one has defined the trail to knowledge higher than Ken Wilber."

Wilber examines the process evolution because the unfolding manifestation of Spirit, from subject to existence to brain, together with the better phases of religious improvement the place Spirit turns into aware of itself. In every one of those domain names, there are ordinary styles, and by way of taking a look heavily at them, we will be able to examine a lot concerning the difficulty of our world—and the path we needs to take if "global transformation" is to turn into a truth.

Wilber bargains a sequence of awesome and unique perspectives on many issues of present curiosity and controversy, together with the gender wars, glossy liberation hobbies, multiculturalism, ecology and environmental ethics, and the clash among this-worldly and otherworldly methods to spirituality. the result's a unprecedented and exhilarating experience in the course of the Kosmos within the corporation of 1 of the good thinkers of our time.

Show description

The Secret Teachings of Plants: The Intelligence of the Heart in the Direct Perception of Nature

By Stephen Harrod Buhner

Unearths using direct conception in knowing Nature, medicinal vegetation, and the therapeutic of human disease

• Explores the innovations utilized by indigenous and Western peoples to benefit without delay from the crops themselves, together with these of Henry David Thoreau, Goethe, and Masanobu Fukuoka, writer of The One Straw Revolution

• includes modern details at the middle as an organ of perception

All historical and indigenous peoples insisted their wisdom of plant medications got here from the crops themselves and never via trial-and-error experimentation. much less popular is that many Western peoples made this similar statement. There are, actually, modes of cognition to be had to all human beings--the brain-based linear and the heart-based holistic. The heart-centered mode of conception should be particularly exact and specified in its info amassing capacities if, as indigenous and historic peoples asserted, the heart’s skill as an organ of notion is developed.
Author Stephen Harrod Buhner explores this moment mode of conception in nice aspect throughout the paintings of various awesome humans, from Luther Burbank, who cultivated the vast majority of foodstuff vegetation we now take with no consideration, to the nice German poet and scientist Goethe and his reviews of the metamorphosis of vegetation. Buhner explores the commonalities between those participants of their method of studying from the plant international and descriptions the explicit steps concerned. Readers will achieve the instruments essential to assemble info without delay from the center of Nature, to without delay study the medicinal makes use of of vegetation, to have interaction in analysis of affliction, and to appreciate the soul-making approach that such deep reference to the realm engenders.

Show description

Practicing the Jhanas: Traditional Concentration Meditation as Presented by the Venerable Pa Auk Sayadaw

By Stephen Snyder

it is a transparent and in-depth presentation of the conventional Theravadin focus meditation referred to as jhāna perform, from authors who've practiced the jhānas in retreat lower than the tips of 1 of the nice residing meditation masters, Pa Auk Sayadaw. The authors describe the suggestions and their effects, according to their very own adventure.

Show description

The Presence Process: A Journey Into Present Moment Awareness

By Michael Brown

Why is it so tough to respond consciously after we are dissatisfied? Why will we in its place inn to hurtful, repetitive, subconscious, reactive behaviors?
The cause is that all of us have deeply suppressed emotional imprints that are programmed into us via adventure and other's instance. This imprinting unfolds instantly throughout the first seven years of adolescence. until eventually these emotional fees are consciously pointed out and built-in, at any time when disappointed, like programmed natural equipment, we immediately lodge to those reactive behaviors.
The Presence Process invites us to aspire to 'conscious emotional response' as a life-style. analyzing and employing the easy procedure in this book makes it attainable for someone, at any place, to remodel the standard in their existence experience from one in all uncontrollable re-activity, to deliberate responsibility.
We all lengthy to be freed from our emotional outbursts and to relatively adventure internal calm responsiveness within the face of hassle. What The Presence technique unearths via direct adventure is that any attempt on our behalf to 'get rid of' our emotional pain is inaccurate. really, it experientially finds to us the outstanding transformation that unfolds once we as a substitute embrace conscious emotional responsibility
The Presence technique is a guided, self-facilitated trip into taking complete accountability for our emotional situation. it's a step-by-step path for the sad baby inside us to develop up emotionally.

Show description

Beelzebub's Tales to His Grandson: All Objectively Impartial: Criticism of the Life of Man (All and Everything, Book 1)

By G. I. Gurdjieff

Publish 12 months note: First released in 1950
------------------------

The instructing of G. I. Gurdjieff (1866-1949) has become famous as some of the most unique, enduring, and penetrating of our century. whereas Gurdjieff used many alternative skill to transmit his imaginative and prescient of the human obstacle and human danger, he gave particular value to his stated masterwork, Beelzebub's stories to His Grandson.

Beelzebub's stories is an ocean of tale and of rules that you can actually probe for a life-time. it really is majestic in scale and content material, challengingly artistic in prose type, and, for these very purposes, frequently approached with apprehension. the 1st English language version of the Russian unique seemed in 1950. given that then, readers have famous the necessity for a revised translation that may make clear the verbal floor whereas respecting the author's personal concept and magnificence.

This revised edition, in instruction for a few years less than the path of Gurdjieff's closest scholar, Jeanne de Salzmann, meets this desire. initially released in 1992, this translation bargains a brand new event of Gurdjieff's masterpiece for modern readers. it truly is awarded in a robust fabric variation that echoes its unique book.

Show description